Winners Of The 2016 Korea Drama Awards Revealed

The 2016 Korea Drama Awards were held on October 7 to honor several of this year’s hottest actors and productions. Oh Sang Jin and Kim Sae Ron were the hosts for this prestigious night. After reviewing 25 dramas that aired over the past year, awards were given out in 16 different categories, as well as a couple of miscellaneous ones.

Kim So Yeon

Kim So Yeon took home the Grand Excellence Award (Daesang) for her role in MBC’s “Happy Home,” beating out the award’s other nominees: Song Joong Ki, Kim Rae Won, and Park Shin Yang. Notably, this was the first time she’s ever received the Grand Excellence Award in all 22 years of her career.

In a tearful speech, she says, “Everyone, you cannot believe it right? I as well cannot believe this is happening but thank you. I will unabashedly receive this award as I am not sure if such a day will ever come again in my lifetime.” The actress also thanks everyone involved with “Happy Home,” her colleagues at Namoo Actors, her fans, and of course, her family for all their support.

Other award recipients included KBS2’s “Descendants of the Sun” for Best Drama; Top Excellence Awards for Baek Jin Hee, Jang Hyun Sung, and Ahn Jae Hyun; and Kim Sae Ron and Seo Ha Joon for Best New Actress/Actor.

See the full list of winners below:

Grand Excellence Award (Daesang):

Kim So Yeon – MBC’s “Happy Home”

Best Drama:

KBS2’s “Descendants of the Sun”

Best Drama Writer:

No Hee Kyung – tvN’s “Dear My Friends”

Best Director:

Kim Jin Min – MBC’s “Marriage Contract

Best Actress, Top Excellence Award:

Baek Jin Hee – MBC’s “My Daughter, Geum Sa Wol

Best Actor, Top Excellence Award:

Jang Hyun Sung – SBS’s “Doctors

Ahn Jae Hyun – tvN’s “Cinderella and Four Knights”

Best Actress, Excellence Award:

Park Se Young – MBC’s “My Daughter, Geum Sa Wol”

Best Actor, Excellence Award:

Jo Jae Yoon – KBS2’s “Descendants of the Sun”

Best New Actress: 

Kim Sae Ron – JTBC’s “Mirror of the Witch

Best New Actor:

Seo Ha Joon – MBC’s “The Flower in Prison

Achievement Award:

Lee Dong Jin

Jury’s Special Award:

So Yoo Jin – KBS2’s “Five Children

Global Star:

Ahn Jae Hyun – tvN’s “Cinderella and Four Knights”

This Year’s Star:

Kim So Yeon – MBC’s “Happy Home”

Hallyu Star:

Han Seung Yeon – JTBC’s “Age of Youth”

Hot Star:

Lee Ki Woo – tvN’s “Memory

Global Management Award:

Moon Bo Mi from HB Entertainment

Best OST:

Insooni, “Such A Beautiful Person” feat. Yuk Ji Dam – MBC’s “Mom”

Congratulations to all the winners!

Source (1) (2)

How does this article make you feel?