Winners Of The 37th Blue Dragon Film Awards Revealed

The 37th Blue Dragon Film Awards took place on November 25 to honor some of the best films and actors over the past year.

Nominees included 21 different productions that were released sometime between October 9, 2015 and October 9, 2016. Kim Hye Soo and Yoon Jun Sang were the masters of ceremonies this night.

Lee Byung Hun took home the title of Best Male Actor. Notably, this was the first time he’s received this award at the Blue Dragon Film Awards, despite being nominated numerous times. During his speech, he stated that the state of politics today seems to be in a worse state than the society that was shown in “Inside Men,” and encouraged everyone to not lose hope.

Kim Min Hee won Best Female Actor for her role in “The Handmaiden,” but was not in attendance.

As the first foreigner to receive an acting award at the Blue Dragon Film Awards, Kunimura Jun was named Best Supporting Actor, and was also one of the four people win the Popularity Award. He said that he’s honored to receive such an award for his first Korean production, and talked about the strength of Korean films.

Meanwhile, Park So Dam won Best Supporting Female Actor, and she tearfully thanked everyone for their support as she promised to continue to become an actress worthy of her award.

See the full list of winners below!

Best Picture – “Inside Men” (Directed by Woo Min Ho)
Best Director – Na Hong Jin (“The Wailing”)
Best Male Actor – Lee Byung Hun (“Inside Men”)
Best Female Actor – Kim Min Hee (“The Handmaiden”)
Best Supporting Male Actor – Kunimura Jun (“The Wailing”)
Best Supporting Female Actor – Park So Dam (“The Priests”)
Best New Actor – Park Jung Min (“Dongju: The Portrait of a Poet”)
Best New Actress – Kim Tae Ri (“The Handmaiden”)
Best New Director – Yoon Ga Eun (“The World of Us”)
Best Cinematography – Lee Mo Gae, Lee Sung Hwan (“Asura: The City of Madness”)
Best Original Score – Jang Young Kyu, Dalparan (“The Wailing”)
Best Art Direction – Ryu Sung Hee (“The Handmaiden”)
Best Film Editing – Kim Sung Min (“The Wailing”)
Best Technical Achievement – Kwak Tae Yong, Hwang Hyo Gyun (Special Effects in “Train to Busan”)
Best Screenplay – Shin Yeon Sik (“Dongju: The Portrait of a Poet”)
Popularity Award – Jung Woo Sung (“Asura: The City of Madness”), Son Ye Jin (“The Last Princess”), Bae Doona (“Tunnel”), Kunimura Jun (“The Wailing”)
Most Viewed Picture – “Train to Busan”
Best Short Film – “Summer Night” (Directed by Lee Ji Won)

Source (1) (2) (3) (4)

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles