Winners Of The 53rd Grand Bell Awards Revealed

On December 27, the 53rd Grand Bell Awards -also known as Daejong Film Awards- were held at Sejong University’s Convention Center and honored several of this year’s biggest films.

“Inside Men” and “The Wailing” were the big winners of the night, each taking home five awards in various categories. “Inside Men” particularly was once again awarded “Best Picture,” while Lee Byung Hun won “Best Male Actor” for his role in the movie.

Lee Byung Hun

The actor directly touched on the still-existing controversy surrounding the awards ceremony in his acceptance speech.

“I’m happy to receive this award, but my heavy heart takes precedence. There’s been a lot of talk about and problems with the Grand Bell Awards, and I feel like these problems have still not been addressed,” he said.  He called for action to be taken, and hopes that the industry will eventually come to an understanding.

The ceremony has been criticized for its fee-based voting system, poor accounting practices, and was supposedly boycotted last year for announcing -but later retracted- that only attendees could win awards. Similar to last year, many of the nominees and subsequent winners were not in attendance.

See the full list of winners below!

Best Picture: “Inside Men”
Best Director: Woo Min Ho (“Inside Men”)
Best Male Actor: Lee Byung Hun (“Inside Men”)
Best Female Actor: Son Ye Jin (“The Last Princess”)
Best Supporting Male Actor: Uhm Tae Goo (“The Age of Shadows”)
Best Supporting Female Actor: Ra Mi Ran (“The Last Princess”)
Best New Actor: Jung Ga Ram (“4th Place”)
Best New Actress: Kim Hwan Hee (“The Wailing”)
Popularity Award: Lee Beom Soo (“Operation Chromite”)
New Rising Star: Kim Hee Jin (“Operation Chromite”) and Choi Ri (“Homecoming”)
Best New Director: Jo Jung Rae (“Homecoming”)
Best Cinematography: Hong Kyung Pyo (“The Wailing”)
Best Original Score: Choi Yong Rak, Jo Sung Woo (“The Last Princess”)
Best Art Direction: Jo Hwa Sung (“The Age of Shadows”)
Best Film Editing: Kim Sun Min (“The Wailing”)
Best Screenplay: Woo Min Ho (“Inside Men”)
Best Costume Design: Kwon Yoo Jin, Im Seung Hee (“The Last Princess”)
Best Lighting: Kim Chan Ho (“The Wailing”)
Best Planning: Kim Won Guk (“Inside Men”)
Best Sound Recording: Kim Shin Yong, Park Yong Ki (“The Wailing”)
Special Prize for Cutting Edge Technology: Jo Yong Suk, Hwang Hyo Kyun, Kwak Tae Yong, Kim Tae Eui (“The Tiger: An Old Hunter’s Tale”)
Lifetime achievement Award: Director Yoon Sam Yook

Source (1) (2)

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles