Winners of the 6th Gaon Chart Music Awards

The 6th Gaon Chart Music Awards was held on February 22 to celebrate the best and brightest of last year’s K-pop scene!

See also: Performances From the 6th Gaon Chart Music Awards

The award ceremony was held at the Jamshil Indoor Gymnasium in Seoul, and was hosted by Super Junior’s Lee Teuk and MAMAMOO’s Solar.

Boy bands dominated in album sales while girl groups were on top for digital music. EXO won a total of four awards, grabbing the Artist of the Year award for quarterly album sales in the second and third quarter, as well as the Artist of Fan Choice award for both the individual and group categories. Their songwriter Jo Yoon Kyung also took home Song Writer of the Year.


BLACKPINK and TWICE both won the Artist of the Year Award for monthly song sales for two months, with BLACKPINK winning in August and November while TWICE took April and October. BLACKPINK also took home the Rookie of the Year award while TWICE’s stylistChoi Hui Seon won the Style of the Year award.


BTS’s wins were not just for the group, but also for the team behind them. The group won two awards, Artist of the Year for quarterly album sales in the fourth quarter and the V LIVE Global Popularity award. They were joined by Big Hit Entertainment’s Bang Shi Hyuk winning Producer of the Year and Son Seung Deuk winning the Style of the Year award for choreography.

BTS Son Seung Deuk


Check out the full list of winners below!

Artist of the Year (Album – Quarterly)

First Quarter: GOT7

Second Quarter: EXO

Third Quarter: EXO

Fourth Quarter: BTS

Artist of the Year (Song – Monthly)

January: GFRIEND

February: MAMAMOO

March: Jang Bum Joon

April: TWICE

May: Urban Zakapa


July: Wonder Girls


September: Lim Chang Jung

October: TWICE


December: BIGBANG

Rookie of the Year – Album: NCT 127

Rookie of the Year – Song: BLACKPINK

Style of the Year – Choreography: Son Seung Deuk (BTS)

Style of the Year – Stylist: Choi Hui Seon (TWICE)

Discovery of the Year – R&B: Dean

Discovery of the Year – Hip hop: BewhY

Discovery of the Year – Indie: Bolbbalgan4

Discovery of the Year – Ballad: Han Dong Geun

V LIVE Global Popularity: BTS

Song of the Year – International Pop: Maroon 5

International Rising Star of the Year : Charlie Puth

Popular Singer of the year: MC the Max

Long-Run Song of the Year: MC the Max

Producer of the Year: Bang Shi Hyuk

K-pop Contribution of the Year: SECHSKIES

Song Writer of the Year: Jo Yoon Kyung (EXO)

Composer of the Year: Black Eyed Pilseung

World Hallyu Star: SHINee

Hot Performance of the Year: INFINITE, SEVENTEEN

Artist of Fan Choice – Individual: Sehun (EXO)

Artist of Fan Choice – Group: EXO

Performer of the Year – Chorus: Kim Ryeong

Performer of the Year – Musical Instrument: Lee Seong Yeol, Choi Tae Wan

Congrats to all the winners!

Check out all the performances here!

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?