“Produce 101 Season 2” Concept Challenge Songs Rise To Top Of Charts, With “Never” Taking The Lead

Tracks from the concept challenge in the latest episode of “Produce 101 Season 2” are doing great on the charts!

June 2’s episode of Mnet’s “Produce 101 Season 2” featured the current trainees practicing and performing original songs in teams of seven, with each team taking on a different concept.

The live audience voted to determine the winning group, with the team that performed “Open Up” taking first place with 552 votes, “Never” coming in second with 443, “Oh Little Girl” in third with 398, “Show Time” in fourth with 135, and “I Know You Know” coming in fifth place with 83 votes.

Now that the songs have been released for digital download, they’ve taken over the charts!

Most notably, the deep house track “Never” that was produced by Triple H (Hyuna and PENTAGON’s Hui and E’Dawn) has grabbed the top spot on all six major realtime charts in Korea as of 2:30 a.m. KST on June 4. The song was composed by Hui and Flow Blow, and the lyrics were written by PENTAGON members Hui, E’Dawn, and Wooseok.

“Never” was performed by the trainee team “National Sons,” including members Hwang Min Hyun, Kim Jong Hyun, Kim Jae Hwan, Ong Sung Woo, Lee Dae Hwi, Park Woo Jin, and Lai Guan Lin.

As of 2:30 a.m. KST on June 4, the group’s performance video had been viewed over 1,236,377 times on Naver and over 937,022 times on YouTube.

In the next place in terms of chart popularity was the song “Oh Little Girl,” which is a hip-hop track that was produced by ASSBRASS and KIGGEN. As of 2:30 a.m. KST on June 4, “Oh Little Girl” was at the No. 2 spot on four out of six major realtime charts (Mnet, Bugs, Genie, and Naver) and No. 4 on Melon and Soribada.

The group of trainees who performed the song went by the name “Slate,” and included Choi Min Ki, Lee Gun Hee, Jung Se Woon, Bae Jin Young, Ahn Hyung Seob, Lee Eui Woong, and Park Ji Hoon.

The performance video for “Oh Little Girl” also had over 795,978 views on Naver as of 2:30 a.m. KST on June 4, and 539,022 views on YouTube.

“Open Up,” which won by the audience vote, has come in third place in terms of chart popularity so far. “Open Up” is a future EDM song that was produced by Devine-Channel and performed by the trainee group “Knock,” which featured members Kim Yong Guk, Kang Daniel, Kang Dong Ho, Yoo Seon Ho, Joo Hak Nyeon, Im Young Min, and Takada Kenta.

As of 2:30 a.m. KST on June 4, the song was at No. 3 on five out of six realtime charts (Mnet, Bugs, Soribada, Genie, and Naver) and No. 6 on Melon. It had over 1,234,550 views on Naver, and 941,722 views on YouTube.

The song that ranked next on the charts was “I Know You Know,” a synth pop/funk song by Hyuk Shin (Joombas), Jeff Lewis, nomad (Joombas), and MRey (Joombas). The track was performed by the trainee group “Monday-Tuesday Boys,” which includes members Kim Tae Dong, Kwon Hyun Bin, Seo Sung Hyuk, Kim Yeh Hyun, Kim Dong Hyun, Kim Dong Han, and Jang Moon Bok.

On June 4 at 2:30 a.m. KST, the song was at No. 4 on Bugs, and No. 5 on Mnet, Genie, and Naver. Meanwhile, its performance views were the lowest of all five, with over 383,149 views on Naver, and 579,843 views on YouTube.

Nu Disco song “Show Time” by producers Veethoven, Oh Sung Han, ASHTRAY, and KINGMAKER also made it on to the charts. “Show Time” was performed by the team “It’s,” composed of Kim Samuel, Noh Tae Hyun, Park Woo Dam, Ha Sung Woon, Lee Woo Jin, Kim Sang Gyun, and Yoon Ji Sung. The song was at No. 6 on Bugs and Genie as of 2:30 a.m. KST on June 4.

Despite coming in last in terms of chart popularity, the group’s performance of “Show Time” had been viewed over 1,045,539 times on Naver, and 628,969 times on YouTube at that time.

You can watch all of the performances and check the results for each trainee in the concept challenge here!

What is your favorite of the five concept challenge songs?

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?