Highlight Tops Chart With “Calling You”; Soompi’s K-Pop Music Chart 2017, June Week 3

Highlight scores their second No. 1 song on our chart this year with “Calling You.” This song debuted at No. 15 last week and jumped all the way to the top for this week, giving the boys their second No. 1 song this year. “Calling You” also won on “Music Core” and “M!Countdown” last week. Congratulations to Highlight!

“Calling You” is the title song from Highlight’s repackaged first mini-album. It is a medium tempo dance song with gentle vocals and band sound. The lyrics are about a man who regrets breaking up with his girlfriend and wants to call her.

Staying at No. 2 is SEVENTEEN’s “Don’t Wanna Cry.” This song was second last week to TWICE’s “SIGNAL,” which dropped to No. 3 this week. While “Don’t Wanna Cry” overcame “SIGNAL” this week and improved on its overall scoring, it was edged out by “Calling You” for the top spot.

There are three more new songs in the top 10 this week! Moving up 12 spots to No. 7 is Baek A Yeon’s latest hit “Sweet Lies.” It is the title track from her third mini-album “Bittersweet,” and it has a unique jazz style sound. Baek A Yeon’s laid back vocals with the background voices from folk rock trio The Barberettes are the highlights of this song. The lyrics are about a woman who feels like she’s been given false hope by a guy who lies to her.

Moving up 21 spots to No. 8 is ASTRO’s first ever top 10 hit “Baby.” The six-member male group is finally breaking through with the title song from their fourth mini-album “Dream Part. 01.” This song has a refreshing tropical sound that is perfect for the summer season, and is about how a guy whose heart beats faster whenever he sees the girl he likes.

Debuting at No. 10 is G-Dragon’s new song “Untitled, 2014.” This song is the title track of G-Dragon’s new mini-album “Kwon Ji Yong,” which is his real name. Instead of a traditional CD, this album comes in a USB that contains all the songs. This song has a beautiful piano melody and contains lyrics that are about a man who misses his ex-girlfriend. “Untitled, 2014” has a good chance to become our new No. 1 song next week.

Singles Music Chart - June 2017, Week 3
  • 1 (+14) Calling You
    • Chart Info
    • 15 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (–) Don’t Wanna Cry
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 3 (-2) SIGNAL
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 4 (+6) Lonely
    • Chart Info
    • 10 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 5 (+1) Palette (feat. G-Dragon)
    • Chart Info
    • 6 Previous rank
    • 7 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 6 (-2) Really Really
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 10 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 7 (+12) Sweet Lies (feat. The Barberettes)
    • Chart Info
    • 19 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 7 Peak on chart
  • 8 (+21) Baby
    • Chart Info
    • 29 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 8 Peak on chart
  • 9 (-1) Shangri-La
    • Chart Info
    • 8 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 10 (new) Untitled, 2014
    • Chart Info
    • 0 Previous rank
    • 1 Number of week on chart
    • 10 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (-8) 오늘 취하면 (Wine (feat. Changmo)) Suran
12 (+5) 미치고 싶다 (Crazy) Han Dong Geun
13 (+5) New Face PSY
14 (-5) 봄날 (Spring Day) BTS
15 (new) Why Don’t You Know (feat. Nucksal) Chungha
16 (+9) Love Sick (with Kim Na Young) FTISLAND
17 (-3) Too Much (feat. DEAN) Loco
18 (-5) TOMBOY Hyukoh
19 (-12) 혼자 (Alone) Urban Zakapa
20 (-8) BLUE MOON Hyorin, Changmo
21 (-16) I LUV IT PSY
22 (+2) From The First Time You And Me Bolbbalgan4
23 (-2) 에라 모르겠다 (FXXK IT) Big Bang
24 (+4) 첫눈처럼 너에게 가겠다 (I Will Go To You Like The First Snow) Ailee
26 (new) 반드시 웃는다 (I Smile) DAY6
27 (new) HAPPY Cosmic Girls
28 (-5) 불장난 (Playing With Fire) BLACKPINK
29 (new) I I YO Gummy
30 (-14) 다시 만나는 날 (Goodbye For Now) Kyuhyun
31 (+1) Beautiful Crush
32 (-12) 모해 (Mohae (feat. Bolbbalgan4)) San E
33 (+10) Yesterday Block B
34 (-4) 오랜 날 오랜 밤 (Last Goodbye) Akdong Musician
35 (new) Wannabe (feat. San E) Hyoyeon
36 (-5) All I Wanna Do (K) (Feat. Hoody, Loco) Jay Park
37 (+5) 이름에게 (Dear Name) IU
39 (-13) 아프지 마요 (Be Well) SECHSKIES
40 (new) 다라다 (DA RA DA) Wheein, Jeff Bernat, B.O.
41 (-14) She’s a Baby Zico
42 (-5) Stay With Me Chanyeol, Punch
43 (-10) B-DAY iKON
44 (-22) Suddenly Roy Kim
45 (+2) Movie BTOB
46 (-6) 부담이 돼 (Anymore (feat. Whee In)) Jungkey
47 (new) The Person I Loved K.Will
48 (-7) 해, 달, 별 (Sun, Moon, Star) KNK
49 (-14) 나랑 아니면 (Who Do You Love) The Black Skirts
50 (-2) 너란 봄 (The Spring (feat. Hareem)) Jung Eun Ji
Don’t miss our music chart in the K-pop fan magazine THE KRAZE! Check them out here.

About the Soompi Music Chart

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea as well as the hottest trending artists on Soompi, making it a unique chart that reflects what’s going on in K-pop not only in Korea but around the world. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Singles+Albums+Social Chart – 25%
Various Internet Charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Soompi Airplay – 20%
TV Music Show Charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MNet M!Countdown, MBC Music Core, MBC PLUS Show Champion) – 40%

How does this article make you feel?