17th Korean Music Awards Announces Winners; Baek Yerin Snags 3 Awards

The winners of the 17th Korean Music Awards have been announced!

The Korean Music Awards focuses on albums and songs more than the artists, and musical achievement is considered rather than sales. The awards show aims to go beyond the barrier between mainstream and non-mainstream music.

This year, Baek Yerin received three awards including Album of the Year with her second mini album “Our Love Is Great.” Following the announcement of the winners, Baek Yerin posted on Instagram to thank her agency and fans.

In her post, she wrote, “I can’t believe the day has come that I receive three awards [at once]. I feel weird and good and [my heart is] pounding. Thank you to everyone who helped me release the album last March. I thank my fans as well.” She also thanked the people at her agency Blue Vinyl, expressing her wishes to continue producing music together. Finally, Baek Yerin expressed her gratitude to the producers she worked with for trusting her completely and helping her learn and experience many different things.

View this post on Instagram

제가 상을 세개나 받는 날이 오다니 기분이 이상하고 두근거리고 좋네요! 콩닥콩닥? 작년 3월 앨범을 낼 수 있게 도움주신 모든 분들께 감사드립니다. 팬분들께도 감사드립니다? 또 작년 9월 부터 2CD 정규를 만드느라 정말 고생 많이 한 @bluevinyl.official 오빠언니들 앞으로도 좋은 음악 함께 해용 그리고 정말 별거 없던 제 옆에서 많은 걸 그대로 느낄 수 있게, 배우고 경험할 수 있게 도와주고, 저의 모든 것을 끝까지 믿어준 제 프로듀서님께 감사를 표하고싶습니다!? #Repost @bluevinyl.official ・・・ 축하합니다? 백예린이 제 17회 #한국대중음악상 올해의 음반 [Our love is great], 최우수 팝 음반 [Our love is great], 최우수 팝 노래 ‘그건 아마 우리의 잘못은 아닐 거야’ 총 3개 부문에서 수상하였습니다. Congratulations? Yerin Baek won Record of the Year [Our love is great], Best Pop Record [Our love is great], and Best Pop Song ‘Maybe It’s Not Our Fault’ at the 17th #KoreanMusicAwards. #백예린 #YerinBaek

A post shared by @ yerin_the_genuine on

Take a look at this year’s winners below:

Album of the Year: Baek Yerin – “Our Love Is Great”

Song of the Year: Jannabi – “For Lovers Who Hesitate”

Artist of the Year: Kim Oki

Rookie of the Year: sogumm

Best Pop Album: Baek Yerin – “Our Love Is Great”

Best Pop Song: Baek Yerin – “Maybe It’s Not Our Fault”

Best Rock Album: Jambinai – “ONDA”

Best Rock Song: Jambinai – “ONDA”

Best Modern Rock Album: The Black Skirts – “THIRSTY”

Best Modern Rock Song: Jannabi – “For Lovers Who Hesitate”

Best Metal and Hardcore Album: Method – “Definition Of Method”

Best Dance and Electronic Album: Lim Kim – “GENERASIAN”

Best Dance and Electronic Song: Lim Kim – “SAL-KI”

Best Rap and Hip Hop Album: C Jamm – “Keung”

Best Rap and Hip Hop Song: E SENS – “Son of a”

Best R&B and Soul Album: Sameul Seo – “The Misfit”

Best R&B and Soul Song: Jclef – “Mama, See”

Best Folk Album: Chun Yongsung – “Year of Kim Il-Sung’s Death”

Best Folk Song: Chun Yongsung – “Heavy Snow Watch”

Best Jazz Album: Kim Oki – “Spirit Advance Unit”

Best Crossover Album: Black String – “Karma”

Best Jazz and Crossover Performance: Jangeun Bae and Liberation Amalgamation – “JB Liberation Amalgamation”

Lifetime Achievement Award: Kim Soo Chul

Selection Committee Special Award: Seoul Record Fair

The ceremony for the 17th Korean Music Awards had been scheduled to be held at the Guro Arts Valley Theater on February 27, but the event was cancelled due to concerns regarding COVID-19 (novel coronavirus).

Congratulations to all the winners!

How does this article make you feel?