Watch: Idols Who Have Already Debuted Face Off With Covers + Undergo 1st Eliminations In New Survival Show

JTBC’s new idol survival show “Peak Time” has officially begun!

“Peak Time” is a brand-new idol competition program in which teams battle for the chance to become the next “worldwide idol group.” Unlike other audition programs, its contestants consist entirely of male idols who have already debuted, whether currently active or part of a disbanded group.

In addition to MC Lee Seung Gi, the survival show boasts a star-studded panel of judges that includes Super Junior’s Kyuhyun, WINNER’s Song Mino, Girls’ Generation’s Tiffany, Jay Park, Highlight’s Lee Gikwang, and INFINITE’s Kim Sungkyu.

On February 15, the survival show aired its highly-anticipated premiere, which kicked off with a spectacular array of cover performances.

23 groups made it to the first “survival round,” in which each team performed in front of the judges without revealing their group name. Instead, each team randomly selected a number from 1 to 23 (corresponding to a specific hour of the day), which became their new temporary group name.

Lee Seung Gi also revealed that only the top 6 finalists would be able to reveal their group name on the show, and those 6 teams would be participating in a “Peak Time” concert tour. Meanwhile, the final winner will receive a grand prize of 300 million won (approximately $232,932), as well as the opportunity to release a new album and hold a global showcase.

In order to pass the “survival round,” a team had to receive votes from six judges or more, while teams that received either four or five votes were put “on hold.” Teams that received three votes or less were automatically eliminated from the competition.

After all the performances, the judges held a group discussion in order to determine which of the teams put on hold would advance to the next round, while the eliminated contestants revealed their group names on stage before heading home.

Check out all 23 teams’ performances below!

Team 14:00 (GHOST9) – GOT7’s “Never Ever”

Team 13:00 (BAE173) – SuperM’s “Tiger Inside”

Team 12:00 (KINGDOM) – VIXX’s “Shangri-La”

Team 8:00 (DKB) – ATEEZ’s “The Real (Heung Ver.)”

Team 21:00 (24K) – BTS’s “Go Go”

Team 5:00 (ATBO) – EXO’s “Growl”

Team 15:00 (BLK) – MONSTA X’s “Beautiful”

Team 3:00 (IN2IT) – ENHYPEN’s “FEVER”

Team 11:00 (VANNER) – SEVENTEEN’s “Adore U”

Team 2:00 (NTX) – B.A.P’s “NO MERCY”

Team 18:00 (BDC) – EXO-CBX’s “Blooming Day”

Team 7:00 (MASC) – NU’EST’s “Hello”

Team 1:00 (DIGNITY) – Wanna One’s “BOOMERANG”

Team 4:00 (BXB) – SHINee’s “Replay”

Team 9:00 (BLITZERS) – NCT DREAM’s “Beatbox”

Team 23:00 (DGNA) – TVXQ’s “Mirotic”

Team 10:00 (BTL) – INFINITE’s “BTD (Before The Dawn)”

Team 20:00 (M.O.N.T) – Park Jin Young’s “FEVER”

Team 6:00 (AIMERS) – ONF’s “Ugly Dance” (unaired)

Team 16:00 (ROMEO) – SHINee’s “Juliette” (unaired)

Team 17:00 (W.A.O) – EXO’s “Overdose” (unaired)

Team 19:00 (DAYDREAM) – Red Velvet’s “Psycho” (unaired)

Team 22:00 (JWiiver) – EVERGLOW’s “DUN DUN” (unaired)

Finally, after all the group performances, Lee Seung Gi revealed that there would be one final team—Team 24:00—comprised of solo contestants who had auditioned for the show on their own. The solo contestants who made it to the next round would advance together, as one team.

Check out some of the solo contestants’ performances below!

Heedo – Stray Kids’ “Back Door”

Kim Shin – MONSTA X’s “Rush”

Kim Hyun Jae – Stray Kids’ “MANIAC”

Won Tak – EXO’s Baekhyun’s “Candy”

Tae Seon – ASTRO’s “Baby”

Gon – Wanna One’s “Beautiful”

Kim Byung Joo – f(x)’s “4 Walls”

Moon Jong Up – SEVENTEEN’s “Anyone”


In the end, the five solo contestants that were chosen to become members of Team 24:00 were Moon Jong Up (B.A.P), Heedo (B.I.G), Kim Byung Joo (ToppDogg), Gon (ARGON), and Kim Hyun Jae (BLACK6IX).

Meanwhile, the eight groups that were eliminated from the competition were IN2IT (Team 3:00), AIMERS (Team 6:00), BTL (Team 10:00), KINGDOM (Team 12:00), ROMEO (Team 16:00), W.A.O (Team 17:00), DAYDREAM (Team 19:00), and JWiiver (Team 22:00).

What were your favorite performances from the first episode? Share your thoughts with us in the comments!

The full premiere of “Peak Time” will soon be available with English subtitles on Viki below:

Watch Now

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles