Album Review – Kim Hyun Sik 20th Anniversary Tribute Album

Kim Hyun Sik 20th Anniversary Tribute Album: Like Rain, Like Music

Posted Image

01 Complaint – Shin Sung Woo
02 Making Memories – Lyn
03 Alley – Bobby Kim (feat. Jang Hyo Suk)
04 Love Love Love – W&Whale
05 Dark, That Star Light – Kim Kyung Ho
06 I Loved You – Horan (with Ibadi)
07 Midsummer Nights Dream – Yurisangja
08 Lonely Afternoon – Spring Summer Fall Winter
09 Don’t Be Sad – Park Ki Young
10 Left – Kim Dong Wook
11 Parting’s Last Train – Park Kang Sung
12 Spring Summer Fall Winter – Lee Hyun Woo
13 Illusion – Hong Kyung Min
14 Raining One Evening – Love and Peace
15 After A Long Time Passed – Sinchon Blues (With Jung Kyung Hwa)

01 My Love By My Side – Kim Wan Jae
02 Don’t Say a Word – Shin Yuna, Park Min Hye of Big Mama
03 Like the Wind, Like Music – Kim Young Ho
04 Moody Person – T-MAX
05 Snow Falling on a Winter Night – K.Will
06 You By My Side Whenever – Loveholics
07 Can’t Love – Thedeepsong
08 M Love By My Side – Lee Eun Ha (feat. Rui)
09 That Bench By That Road – Park Sang Min
10 First Time Again – Jun In Kwon
11 Just the Two of Us – Heo Yun Joo
12 Be a Mirror – Joo Min

DVD – MBC’s Kim Hyun Sik LIFE Documentary

Purchase This Album

It’s been twenty years since one of Korea’s most renowned musicians, Kim Hyun Sik unfortunately passed away at the young age of 32. In memory of his name and music, fellow colleagues and juniors have collaborated together to cover 27 of Kim’s hit songs. This three-disc compilation album consists of two audio discs filled with music sung by the likes of Bobby Kim, Lyn, Loveholics, and K.Will, along with a DVD documenting the late singer’s career. This is definitely a work worth keeping as it has something for everyone, including new music lovers.

One of the songs I’ve really enjoyed was “Love Love Love” covered by W&Whale. The song seemed very familiar on first listen, and then it hit me that I also heard Park Hyo Shin’s cover in his remake album. I remember Park Hyo Shin’s version being rather jazzy and slower in tempo unlike W&Whale’s which gave off electronica sounds accompanied by dance beats. Although both gave off different colors to the same song, both versions were quite catchy, giving Kim Hyun Sik’s song justice. Because electronica dance numbers are quite the trend today in K-Pop, I feel that pop lovers will find this song catchy as well.

Another song I enjoyed was Kim Dong Wook’s cover of “Left.” Like “Love Love Love” this song sounded quite familiar. Kim Dong Wook does a great job mastering this song with his jazzy and powerful vocal skills. The overall mood was quite mellow and the smooth vocals helped cement this feel. The last song I wanted to mention was “Snow Falling on a Winter Night” sung by ballad artist, K.Will. The singer does a great job capturing the emotions of the number. The instruments do a great job accompanying K.Will’s beautiful vocals.

In conclusion, I feel that fans of veteran artist, Kim Hyun Sik would get a kick out of this album since they get to hear newly arranged renditions of their past time favorites. I also believe that the making of this compilation album was a great way for K-Pop lovers to familiarize themselves with older Korean music through the help of newer and currently popular artists such as T-MAX and K.Will. The songs may not be for everyone, but I think everyone should give it a try.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.

2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet

How does this article make you feel?