miss A Wins the ‘Best Dance & Electronic Song’ Award at the Korean Music Awards

Best rookie girl group miss A has been recognized for their distinct musical abilities. miss A’s debut song ‘Bad girl good girl’ was chosen as the ‘Best Dance & Electronic Song’ at the ‘8th Korean Music Awards that was held at the Woori Financial Group Art Hall on the 23rd. In the past, their hit song ‘Bad girl good girl’ had also been selected as the ‘Song of the Year’ at the 2010 MAMA (Mnet Asian Music Awards).

Along with miss A’s song, Sultan of the Disco’s ‘Heat of Sunday Night,’ Kafka’s ‘Silence,’ 2NE1’s ‘Can’t Nobody’, f(x)’s ‘Nu ABO’ were nominated in the same ‘Best Dance & Electronic Song’ category.

Korean Music Awards, which advocates a Korean version of the ‘Grammy Awards,’ is an award ceremony that has a special meaning for artists because unlike previous music awards, the committee evaluations are strictly based on musicality, excluding other additional factors such as popularity and number of TV appearances. So winning this award must mean a lot for miss A. The girls attended the ceremony despite their busy schedule but they were awarded twice, as a formality, because of their delayed arrival. Hip Hop musician Verbaljint, who was the award presenter, had claimed earlier, ”I was looking forward to seeing Fei in person, but too bad,” was pleased to hand over the trophy to the girls in person.

Miss A’s Min expressed her gratitude by calling out the names of each of their staff members, agency, manager, stylist, and said, “Thank you so much for this meaningful award. We’ll work hard to present great songs in the future as well.” 

Meanwhile, 2NE1’s album “To Anyone” won the “Best Dance & Electronic Album” award, while Big Bang’s Taeyang and f(x) each won the “Artist of the Year Chosen by Netizens” award in the male artist and group artist category.

(Original article written in Korean by @alice; Translated by @cherryspirit; Photos by v_studio@naver.com)