More Info on 2NE1: New Single Was Supposed to Be Titled “F*** You”

YG Entertainment released additional information on the upcoming 2NE1’s mini album today through their official blog, YG Life. The six-track mini album is scheduled for release on July 28th.

But prior to the mini album release, 2NE1 will first come out with another single titled “Hate You” on July 21st. In fact, this track was supposed to be included in last year’s first full album, YG Entertainment said. However, due to inappropriate lyrics and title, it was dropped at the final moment. They said the title “Hate You” was originally named “F*** You,” but since Minzy is underage and 2NE1 has a huge teen fan base as well, it was determined the title would be unsuitable for promotions. Although they looked for a better title, YGE and 2NE1 failed to find one in a short period of time, and thus, had to delay its release.

“This type of situation arises quite often when you produce new music. But for this track, 2NE1 members really liked it and they requested to change the title and release it this time. So we decided to switch the title to ‘Hate You’ and include it in this new mini album,” YGE said in a statement.

The music video for “Hate You” was produced in animation by pop artist Mary Kim. The teaser video will be out on July 18th at midnight and the full video will come out on the same day of the track’s release on July 21st.

YGE also briefly talked about “Ugly,” the title track of the new album. Featuring a powerful guitar riff, “Ugly” is a mixture of rock and electronic sounds. The song has playful lyrics about one’s not-so-pretty appearance. The chorus part, sung by CL, is done in English because of the fact that many foreign fans have started following K-Pop. The music video for “Ugly” will be released on July 28th at midnight.

In addition, YGE hinted at the possibility of coming out with more 2NE1 albums this year, as YG added at the end of the post: “I would like to wrap up this post by leaving a hint that 2NE1’s new song releases this year, which began from Park Bom’s ‘Don’t Cry’ last April, will not end with the this mini album.”

Well, it looks like we still have plenty of new 2NE1 tracks waiting for release this year. Soompi will keep you posted for any new updates so make sure you come back for more info!

Track list for 2NE1’s new album:

1. I Am The Best

2. Ugly

3. Lonely

4. Hate You

5. Don’t Cry

6. (Bonus Track) Don’t Stop the Music

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles