Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2012 – January Week 2

Despite a big drop in points, IU’s “You And I” repeats as No. 1 for the fourth straight week. This seems to be a transitional week for a lot of songs – old songs dropping in points while new songs just entering the chart. Hyuna & Hyun Seung’s “Trouble Maker” also remains No. 2 but drops even more than “You And I” in points.

Davichi and T-Ara’s collaboration “We Were In Love” moves up four spots to No. 3 this week. This song is ranked high on every one of our sources except airplays. If it had scored some points on airplays it would have been as least No. 2 or possibly even No. 1. Let see if “We Were In Love” continues to gain ground next week.

There are three new songs in the top 10 this week, two of those are brand new debuts. T-Ara has two songs on the top 5, not only “We Were In Love” at No. 3, but their latest mini-album’s title song “Lovey Dovey” is our highest debut this week at No. 5. T-Ara is one of the hottest groups in K-pop now. Their hit “Roly Poly” was just crowned our 2011 Song Of The Year. Last week their former No. 1 song “Cry Cry” was still at No. 3, and this week they already have a new song at No. 5. Lovey-Dovey” is an electronic dance track created by Shinsadong Tiger and Choi Gyu Sung. The addictive melody and hard beats is expected to attract listeners. It is one of three Shinsadong Tiger written songs in the top 5, joining “Trouble Maker” and A Pink’s “My My. “Lovey Dovey” may have the best potential to become the new No. 1 song next week.

Just debuting below T-Ara at No. 6 is 8Eight member Lee Hyun’s “Because You Are You,” from his first full length solo album “The Healing Echo.” Last year, Lee Hyun was very active as he had his solo hit song “You Are The Best Of My Life” and 8Eight’s “Block Those Lips.” He also participated in his project group Homme with 2AM’s Chang Min and had the hit song “Laughing Because I’m A Guy.” For his new album Lee Hyun continued to work with songwriter Hitman Bang. “Because You Are You” is a warm ballad good for listening in winter.

The last new song in the top 10 is Zi-A’s “Depressed (Have A Drink Part 2), rising seven spots this week. As the title implies, this song is a sequel of her song “Have A Drink” which was released in 2009. Despite not having any promotions, this song has a strong showing on many of our chart sources. Actor Julian Kang stars on this song’s MV.


SOOMPI CHART for 2012, Month 1, Week 2

1. (–) IU – 너랑 나 (You And I) ***4th Week @ No. 1***
Score: 888
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Lee Min Soo / Lyrics: Kim Ina
Album: IU Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


2. (–) Trouble Maker – Trouble Maker
Score: 839
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Rado / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Rado
Album: Trouble Maker mini-album | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


3. (+4) Davichi & T-Ara – 우리 사랑했잖아 (We Were In Love)
Score: 790
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Cho Young Soo / Lyrics: K Smith
Album: T-Ara mini-album Vol. 5 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


4. (+1) A Pink – My My
Score: 700
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Rado / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Rado
Album: Apink mini-album Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


5. (new) T-Ara – Lovey Dovey
Score: 592
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung
Album: T-Ara mini-album Vol. 5 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


6. (new) Lee Hyun – 너니까 (Because You Are You)
Score: 581
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Hitman Bang / Lyrics: Hitman Bang
Album: Lee Hyun Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


7. (+1) Electroboys – Ma Boy 2 (feat. Sistar Hyo Rin)
Score: 561
Genre: Hip-Hop

Music: Brave Brothers / Lyrics: Brave Brothers
Album: Electroboyz 2nd single “Rebirth” | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


8. (+7) Zi-A – 속상해서 (술 한잔 해요 Part 2) (Depressed (Have A Drink Part 2))
Score: 535
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Kim Do Hoon, Choi Gap Won / Lyrics: Choi Gap Won
Album: Zi-A digital single “Depressed”
Watch: MV


9. (–) Wonder Girls – Be My Baby
Score: 533
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Park Jin Young / Lyrics: Park Jin Young
Album: Wonder Girls Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


10. (-6) Huh Gak & LE – 그 노래를 틀때마다 (Every Time That Song Is Turned On)
Score: 526
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Rado / Lyrics: Rado, LE
Album: Huh Gak & LE digital single “Every Time That Song Is Turned On”
Watch: MV


Rank Artist Song Score
11 Young Joon (Brown Eyed Soul) (–) 꽃보다 그대가 (You Are Prettier Than The Flowers (feat. Simon D)) 515
12 Ali (-6) 촌스럽게 굴지 마 (Don’t Act Countrified) 502
13 Koyote (new) 했던 말 또 하고 (Repeat The Same Words) 455
14 Dong Hae & Eun Hyuk (Super Junior) (-4) 떴다 오빠 (Oppa Oppa) 440
15 Dynamic Duo (new) 거기서거기 (Without You) 427
16 Park Jae Bum (+7) 별 (Star) 418
17 Teen Top (new) 미치겠어 (Crazy) 415
18 Boy Friend (+2) 내가 갈게 (I’ll Be There) 407
19 Noel (-1) 살기 위해서 (Just To Live) 345
20 Orange Caramel (-6) Funny Hunny 302
21 Joosuc (new) Sun & Star (feat. Lim Jung Hee) 284
22 Monday Kiz (-9) 미행 (Follow) 270
23 SNSD (-2) The Boys 268
24 Kim Yeon Woo (-2) 더 가까이 (Little Bit Closer) 239
25 10cm (new) 애상 (Sorrow) 238
26 U-Kiss (–) 평생 (For Kiss Me) 209
27 Infinite (-15) 하얀 고백 (Lately) 205
28 Kim Bo Kyung (-12) 메아리 (Echo) 199
29 Lee Young Hyun (Big Mama) (-10) 이별사랑 (Love, Break Up) 193
30 Lee Seung Ki (-1) 친구잖아 (We’re Friends) 182
31 Lee Seung Chul, Christina Love Lee (-14) I Believe 177
32 Jea (-8) 그대 바보 (You Fool) 153
33 F.I.X (new) 말하지마 (Don’t Say) 132
34 Jang Jae In (-9) 겨울밤 (Winter Night) 129
35 Fat Cat (new) 예쁜게 다니 (Is Being Pretty Everything) 112
36 Secret (–) 사랑은 MOVE (Love Move) 109
37 Yoon Jong Shin (new) 느낌Good (Feel Good (feat. Jang Jae In)) 107
38 YB (-4) 흰수염고래 (Blue Whale) 101
39 NS Yoon G (new) 미녀가 된 이유 (The Reason I Became A Witch) 100
40 Yim Jae Bum (-13) 사랑..그 놈 (Love..That Thing) 97
41 4men & Mi (-13) 그 남자 그 여자 (That Man That Woman) 95
42 8Eight (-11) 한사람 (One Person) 86
43 Shin Hye Sung (new) 돌아와줘 (Come Back To Me) 80
44 Lim Jung Hee (new) 필라멘트 (Filament) 64
45 Kim Hyun Joong (SS501) (-12) Marry Me 54
46 Lucid Fall (+1) 여부가 (A Fisherman’s Song) 53
47 Chocolat (new) I Like It 52
48 Chaos (new) 그녀가 온다 (She Is Coming) 52
49 Kim Won Jun (M4) (new) 니가 뭔데 (Who Do You Think You Are) 44
50 Verbal Jint (-5) 감사감사 (Thank You) 40



In this segment, we go back in time to re-visit charts of the same week in past years. The Soompi Music Chart began in January 2005. At first we had only 20 songs and later expanded to 50 songs.

G.O.D is one of Korea’s legendary boy bands. Together with H.O.T and Shinhwa, they were the top K-pop boy bands in the early 2000s. Unlike H.O.T and Shinhwa, G.O.D has a more “boys next door” image and their music is more contemporary. They are one of the first boy groups produced by the great JYP. “An Ordinary Day” was the title song from the group’s sixth album released in late 2004, and became a No. 1 song on our chart for four weeks in January 2005 starting this week seven years ago. G.O.D went on to release one more album in late 2005 before they officially disbanded. Members Kim Tae Woo and Son Ho Young became successful solo singers while Yoon Kai Sang became a popular actor.

External from soompi image

Let’s review the MV of “An Ordinary Day” here.


About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and airplays of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%
GAON Music Chart – 15%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Naver, Daum) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 15%   
SBS (Inky Gayo Take 7 + voting list) – 10%
MBC Inky Top 100 Chart – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10%
MNet Chart – 10%

How does this article make you feel?