Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2012 - September Week 5

There are big changes on top of the chart this week as the new No. 1 and No. 2 songs were not even in the top 10 last week. We were predicting T-Ara’s “Sexy Love” and FT Island’s “I Wish” would be battling for the top spot, but instead those two songs only ended up as No. 3 and No. 4 respectively this week.

Secret’s “Poison” was only at No. 17 last week but leapfrogs all challengers to become our new No. 1 song. Secret has become the new darling of our chart. Last year they were named top female group on our year end Soompi Gayo awards as they had two No. 1 songs and a No. 2 song.  Earlier this year, Secret focused on their Japanese career, but have now come home to release their third mini-album. The title track “Poison,” is a song of the hip-hop genre. As the song title suggests, it is about a person realizing that falling deeper and deeper in love is poisonous and yet being unable to swim out of it. The song was created by Kang Ji Won and Kim Kim Bum, who are responsible for Secret’s two chart topping hits last year, “Magic” and “Shy Boy.”

Moving up from No. 13 to No. 2 this week and was only five points behind Secret’s “Poison” is Orange Caramel’s “Lipstick”.  This is the highest chart position the After School sub-unit has ever reached.  They hit No. 3 with “Shanghai Romance” last year.  “Lipstick” is an addictive upbeat number. Saxophone and synth sounds are key elements to this song.  This cheerful song is about playing innocent after leaving a lipstick mark on a boy a girl meets for the first time.

Rounding out the all girl groups top three is T-Ara’s “Sexy Love”.  This song was in a great position to become No. 1 this week but perhaps still suffering from the after effect of the group’s negative publicity over the summer, it drops one spot to No. 3.  Still, it is only nine points behind Orange Caramel’s “Lipstick”.  These same three songs will battle once again for the top spot next week.

One other new entry to the top 10 this week and this song will probably try to break up the girl group dominance next week. G-Dragon’s “Crayon” debuts at No. 7 this week. This song is the title track from G-Dragon’s mini-album “One Of A Kind” and it replaces “That XX” which was in the top 10 the past two weeks.  “Crayon” is an abbreviated form of “Crazy On.” It is an electro hip-hop number composed and penned by Teddy and G-Dragon.

1. (+16) Secret – Poison ***1st Week @ No. 1*** 
Score: 858 
Genre: Pop/Dance 
Music: Kim Ki Bum, Kang Ji Won / Lyrics: Kim Ki Bum, Kang Ji Won 
Album: Secret mini-album Vol. 3 | Purchase this Album 

2. (+11) Orange Caramel – Lipstick
Score: 853
Genre: Pop/Dance 
Music: Lee Ki, Seo Yong Bae / Lyrics: Lee Ki, Seo Yong Bae 
Album: Orange Caramel Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album 

3. (-1) T-ara – Sexy Love 
Score: 844 
Genre: Pop/Dance 
Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung 
Album: T-Ara mini-album Vol. 6 | Purchase this Album 

4. (+2) FT Island – 좋겠어 (I Wish) 
Score: 816 
Genre: Pop Rock 

Music: Kim Do Hoon / Lyrics: Han Sung Ho
Album: FT Island Vol. 4  | Purchase this Album

5. (+4) Baek Ah Yeon – 느린노래 (Sad Song) 
Score: 771 
Genre: Pop/Ballad 
Music: Super Changdda / Lyrics: Super Changdda, Park Jin Young 
Album: Baek Ah Yeon Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album 

6. (-5) Kara – Pandora
Score: 748 
Genre: Pop/Dance 
Music: Han Jae Ho, Kim Seung Soo, Yue / Lyrics: Song Soo Yoon 
Album: Kara Mini Album Vol. 5 – Pandora | Purchase this Album 

7. (new) G-Dragon – Crayon 
Score: 683 
Genre: Hip-Hop 
Music: G-Dragon, Teddy / Lyrics: G-Dragon, Teddy
Album: G-Dragon mini-album Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album 

8. (-5) Psy – 강남스타일 (Gangnam Style) 
Score: 658 
Genre: Hip-Hop 
Music: Psy, Yoo Gun Hyung / Lyrics: Psy 
Album: Psy Vol. 6 Part 1 | Purchase this Album 

9. (+1) Urban Zakapa – 니가 싫어 (I Hate You)  
Score: 515
Genre: R&B Ballad
Music: Jo Hyun Ah / Lyrics: Jo Hyun Ah 
Album: Urban Zakapa digital single “I Hate You” 

10. (-3) Huh Gak, Zi-A – I Need You 
Score: 482
Genre: Pop Ballad 
Music: / Lyrics
Album: Huh Gak & Zi-A digital single “I Need You” 

Rank Artist Song Score
11 Huh Gak (+14) 아프다 (Sick) 434
12 Seo In Kook, Jung Eun Ji (-1) All For You 429
13 NaUl (new) 바람기억 (Memory of the Wind) 400
14 B.A.P (-9) 대박사건 (Crash) 389
15 BEAST (-7) 아름다운 밤이야 (Beautiful Night) 375
16 Fiestar (+2) VISTA 331
17 Sistar (-3) Loving U 326
18 Mighty Mouth (new) 아름다운 밤이야 (At Times Like This) 326
19 Rumble Fish (-4) 너 그렇게 살지마 (Don’t Be Like That) 273
20 Tae Yeon (-8) 가까이 (Closer) 234
21 Vibe (new) My All (Dear My Fan) 232
22 Baek Ji Young (-2) 사랑아 또 사랑아 (Love and Love) 226
23 Lee Jong Hyun (CNBlue) (+5) 내 사랑아 (My Love) 219
24 BoA (-8) Only One 218
25 Hyungdon & Daejun (-6) Oh Yeah! 197
26 UV (+3) 그 여자랑 살래요 (I’m Going To Live With That Woman (feat. Yoon Do Hyun)) 191
27 BTOB (new) WOW 190
28 Spica (new) I’ll Be There 187
29 Younha (new) 눈물이 한방울 (A Single Tear Drop) 186
30 Verbal Jint, As One (new) 가까이 가까이 (Closer, Closer) 184
31 ZE:A (-8) Phoenix 182
32 Davichi (-1) 남자도 우나요 (Do Men Cry?) 147
33 TASTY (-11) 너 나 알아 (You Know Me) 142
34 2NE1 (-7) I Love You 137
35 Lexy (-11) 놀자 (Nolza) 131
36 Jang Hye Jin (+1) 나쁜사람 (Bad Guy) 130
37 Two X (-11) Double Up 129
38 Freshboyz (new) King Kong Shower (feat. G.NA) 120
39 Phantom (-18) Burning 115
40 Juniel (-7) Illa Illa 114
41 JYP, Taek Yeon, Woo Young & Suzy (new) Classic 113
42 Gavy NJ (new) 가로수길에서 (In the Boulevard (feat. Ara)) 102
43 VIXX (-9) Rock Ur Body 96
44 Rania (new) Style 90
45 Shin Yong Jae (4men) (-7) 걸음이 느려서 (Walk Slowly) 87
46 U-Kiss (new) Stop Girl 85
47 Suh Young Eun (+3) 가을이 오면 (Autumn Comes)


48 Verbal Jint (-) 충분히 예뻐 (You Deserve Better (feat. Phantom’s Sanchez)) 64
49 Sung Hoon (Brown Eyed Soul) (-4) 아무리 (However (feat. Kin Jin Pyo)) 60
50 Nep (-8) Doradora 55


V-Rus – Love

Genre: Modern Rock

Album: V-Rus digital single “Love”

Comment: Five-member group, V-Rus releases its first single album, “LOVE” this summer. The song is of the same title and was composed, penned, and produced by The The Band’s leader Kim Young Jun. This pop number is about confessing one’s love to a lover. (credits to motoway065 for translations)

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings.  It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and airplays of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop.  Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%

GAON Music Chart – 15%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Naver, Daum) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 15%    
SBS Inky Gayo – 10%
MBC Gayo Chart – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10% 
MNet M!Countdown Chart – 10%

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles