[Video] First Music Show Wins Part 1: Girl Groups

The weekly music programs (Mnet M!Countdown, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core and SBS Inkigayo) have always been one of the most important aspects when promoting a new song. Through these stages, fans in Korea and the rest of the world see if a group or artist has what it takes to become a top star. 

With so many strong groups out there, taking a single win is a big deal to newer groups. If you aren’t familiar with how these shows go, they announce the winner at the end, selected by a scoring system which varies by program. After that they give an acceptance speech and then a very playful encore stage of the song.

Lets look back the the first wins of top girl groups! Tears will be shed!

Note: M!Countdown and Music Bank currently have a “winner” system. Inkigayo stopped awarding a weekly winner in the middle of 2012.

If you want to skip to the boy groups, go here.

Starting with the youngest group, A Pink had their first win on January 5, 2012 on M!Countdown with “My My” from their second EP “Snow Pink.”

Leader Chorong seems to be left speechless while many of the other members are crying. Eunji does most of the thank you speech.

Fun Fact: Fans of drama “Reply 1997,” did you notice that Tony An was one of the hosts of M!Countdown on the day A Pink won!

(English Subbed)

Extra BTS

f(x) had their first win with “Pinocchio (Danger)” on the April 29, 2011 episode of Music Bank. Luna seems to be the most affected by the win. After getting teary eyed, Victoria manages to get the thank you speech out.

After mainly promoting with sexy and mature concepts since their debut, Secret‘s “Shy Boy” ended upcoming their breakout hit song. Their cute retro concept definitely won everyone over and was able to take their first ever win on January 11, 2011 on M!Countdown.

They start crying more during their encore stage.

SISTAR‘s first win came on December 17, 2010 on Music Bank with “How Dare You.” Due to a holiday special episode, they accepted the award the following week, so we didn’t get to see their initial reactions to winning.

miss A‘s “Bad Girl Good Girl” won for the first time on M!Countdown on July 22, 2010. This was an amazingly fast win for a rookie group as it was only 23 days after their debut. 

Min seemed very surprised.

(English Subbed)

T-ara had their first win with “Bo Peep Bo Peep” January 1, 2010 on Music Bank. They looked definitely surprised to take the win over 2PM that week. When the MC asked them to comment, it seemed like the members hid their face or turned away to not show their crying face. It takes a while for someone to finally say something. 

(English Subbed)

After School took home their first win on December 20, 2009 with “Because Of You” on Inkigayo. The song went on to hit triple crown status with following Inkigayo wins on December 27 and January 24.

The song is from their second single and was the first song for new members Nana and Raina.

As leader Kahi is giving the thank you speech, the other girls seem to be hiding in a line behind her to hide their crying.

Note: Video shows all three of their wins.

4Minute‘s second single “Muzik” got them their first win on the September 27, 2009 episode of Inkigayo. Not too much crying here.

2NE1 took home their very first win on Inkigayo with their official debut song “Fire” on June 14 2009. Just like their lebaelmates Big Bang on their first win, the girls did a good job keeping calm throughout their speech.

This would be the first of many wins as they currently have a total of 31 music show wins!

Kara‘s first win came from their cute song “Honey” on the March 5, 2009 episode of M!Countdown. Gyuri and Seungyeon both burst out in tears as they gave the group’s thank you speech.

Video was not available on YouTube. Watch here, or check out the pictures below.

Davichi‘s “Sad Promise” got them their first on the May 4, 2008 show of Inkigayo.

Just like 2NE1, this duo manages to stay calm while accepting their award. 

Brown Eyed Girls took their first music show win on the February 22, 2008 episode of Music Bank with “L.O.V.E.”

The group, which had been previously known as an R&B/ballad group, switched up their style to a more pop sound for their first mini album. It was a great move as “L.O.V.E” went on to become one of the most popular songs for the first half of the year.

Wonder Girls received their first win for “Tell Me” on Inkigayo’s October 28, 2007 episode.

The song was the title track for their first full length album “The Wonder Years,” and was extremely popular as it won six times on Music Bank, three times on Inkigayo and once on M!Countdown.

They currently have 37 wins total across all music shows and songs.

A little more than two months after their official debut with “Into The New World,” Girls’ Generation took their very first music program win on the October 11, 2007 episode of M!Countdown. 

Sooyoung seems to be the only one visibly crying while Yoona seems to be close to it as well.

Of course, this would only just be the first of many wins for the group. Adding their total wins from M!Countdown, Music Bank and Inkigayo gives a total of 87 wins!

That’s all! Hope you enjoyed this list. Although most of these wins are from recent years, everyone looks a lot younger. Watch the boy groups’ first time wins here.

Which group’s winning reaction was your favorite?