Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2013 – September Week 2

An unexpected song unseated our three week champion EXO’s “Growl” this week as Sunmi’s first solo track “24 Hours” went up six spots to become our new No. 1 song. Despite not yet winning in any music program or independent charts, the overall consistency of this song being ranked among the top songs in all our sources make it an easy winner this week. Congratulations to Sunmi.

Moving up nine spots to No. 2 is Teen Top’s “Rocking.” This song won most of the music shows last week and becomes the highest of four new songs in the top ten this week. “Rocking” is the title track of their fourth mini-album “Teen Top Class.” Written and produced by Brave Brothers, this song is an exciting dance track with strong beats and club sounds. Teen Top also went to No. 2 earlier this year with “Miss Right,” so they are still looking for their first No. 1 on our chart. If “Rocking” can catch up on independent chart scores they will have a good chance to move up to the top.

After three weeks on top, EXO’s “Growl” falls back to No. 3. “Growl” still won M!Countdown and Music Core last week, but was totally off the chart after winning the Triple Crown in Inkigayo. If not because of that, “Growl” would have been very close to the top again this week.

Aside from “Rocking,” there are three other new songs in the top 10. Moving up 18 spots to No. 4 and scoring not only their first top 10 but their first top five hit is SPICA’s “Tonight.” Originally from Michael Mind Project featuring Irresistable’s “Don’t Wanna Go Home” with Korean lyrics written by SPICA’s mentor Lee Hyori and their leader Kim BoA, this listener friendly track is one of the better up-tempo songs by a female group so far this year. The song is about forgetting the past and trying to fly once more.

Making a 21-spot jump to No. 6 is Kim Ye Lim’s (Lim Kim) second top 10 hit “Rain.” It is the pre-release track of her second mini-album “Her Voice.” Lim Kim’s mentor Yoon Jong Shin took part in writing and producing this song. Continuing with a folk style, “Rain” is a mellow number with piano and guitar sounds. The song holds lyrics about an ordinary twenty-year old girl and her story on a rainy day. Right now it looks like Lim Kim, Bumkey, and Yoo Sung Eun are the front runners for best new artist. Lim Kim’s mini-album title track “Voice” is expected to hit the chart soon and it looks like she will have another top 10 hit.

Up 19 spots to No. 10 is Lyn’s latest hit “I Like This Song.” This is the title song of part two of her eighth album, released four months after the first installation. If part one had heart wrenching songs, the second half consists of exhilarating love tracks. “I Like This Song” is an acoustic pop number with a beautiful guitar and piano line. Co-written by Double Sidekick and the singer herself, this love confession track is perfect for sharing with a loved one.

Outside of the top 10 this week finds two songs having the potential of jumping all the way to No. 1 next week: Kara’s “Damaged Lady” at No. 12 and G-Dragon’s “Black” at No. 16. G-Dragon brings a quartet of songs into the chart as his album has four title songs, so we won’t know which one will be more accepted by fans. These new songs, along with the existing top 10 hits this week, makes next week’s No. 1 perhaps the most hotly contested this year!

Singles Music Chart - September 2013, Week 2
  • 1 (+6) 24 Hours
    • Chart Info
    • 7 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (+9) Rocking
    • Chart Info
    • 11 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 3 (-2) Growl
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 4 (+18) Tonight
    • Chart Info
    • 22 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 5 (-3) Attraction (feat. Dynamic Duo)
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 6 (+21) Rain
    • Chart Info
    • 27 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 6 Peak on chart
  • 7 (-2) Bar Bar Bar
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 9 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 8 (-4) Story Of Someone I Know
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 6 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 9 (-6) Gotta Talk To U
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 10 (+19) I Like This Song
    • Chart Info
    • 29 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 10 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (-5) 첫 사랑니 (Rum Pum Pum Pum) f(x)
12 (new) Damaged Lady Kara
13 (+10) Touch Love T (Tasha)
14 (-4) 미치게 만들어 (Crazy Of You) Hyorin
15 (new) 니가 뭔데 (Who You?) G-Dragon
16 (new) Black (feat. Jennie Kim) G-Dragon
17 (-1) NoNoNo A Pink
18 (-10) Do You Love Me 2NE1
19 (+6) 울고만있어 (Is Crying) Baek Ji Young
20 (-11) 넌 내꺼라는걸 (That You’re Mine (feat. Swings)) Huh Gak
21 (-1) 낮과 밤 (Day And Night) Gummy
22 (-5) U & I Ailee
23 (new) 삐딱하게 (Crooked) G-Dragon
24 (-12) Shadow BEAST
25 (-12) 바람의 유령 (Ghost Of The Wind) ZE:A
26 (-2) My Love Lee Seung Chul
27 (new) 집에 안갈래 (I Ain’t Going Home (feat. Geeks)) Navi
28 (new) 사랑했었다면 (If You Loved Me) Zi-A, Lee Hae Ri
29 (+3) 니 입술 그 맛 (The Taste Of Your Lips (feat. EB)) December
30 (new) 단, 하루 (Just One Day (feat. Bae Chi Gi)) 2BiC
31 (new) 예뻐 예뻐 (Pretty Pretty) Ladies’ Code
32 (new) 좋아보여 (Looks Good) Ha Dong Qn
33 (+11) 열대야 (Tell Me Love) History
34 (-15) 1-4-3 (I Love You) Henry
35 (-21) Luv Is Lim Jung Hee
36 (-8) 바보야 (You Fool) Honey G
37 (new) Niliria G-Dragon
38 (–) 잠꼬대 (Sleep Talking) NU’EST
39 (-13) Love Love Love 4men
40 (-9) 사랑이 자라서 (Because Love Grows) Yoo Sung Eun
41 (-23) Kill Bill Brown Eyed Girls
42 (-3) 너와 나 (You And I) Hong Dae Kwang
43 (-2) 대다나다너 (G.R.8.U) VIXX
44 (new) Mystery Jung Dong Ha
45 (-10) Badman B.A.P
46 (-1) Someday Jo Sung Mo
47 (+1) Green W & JAS
48 (new) 가슴을 쳐봐도 (Heart Hit) Kim Bo Kyung
49 (-16) 오늘따라 보고싶어서 그래 (Missing You Today) Davichi
50 (new) 쓰레기 (Trash (feat. Suki)) H-Eugene

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and airplay of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%
GAON Music Chart
– 20%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 20% 
SBS Inkigayo Chart – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10%
MNet M!Countdown Chart – 10%

How does this article make you feel?