Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2014 – April Week 1

There is a major upset on top of the chart this week. Veteran male soloist Lim Chang Jung’s “Ordinary Song” is anything but ordinary as it moves up 20 big spots and leaps over many top idol artists to No. 1 this week.  “Ordinary Song” just edged out last week’s No. 1 2NE1’s “Come Back Home” by four points.  Congratulations to him.

Lim started his singing career in 1995, and reached a peak in the early 2000’s.  Nearly all his album title songs reached No. 1 on the chart back then. He abruptly quit singing after releasing his 10th album in 2003 to focus on his acting career.  In 2009 Lim came back to the music scene and released his 11th album.  He regained a lot of popularity last year with the song “About Me.”

“Ordinary Song” is the title track of Lim Chang Jung’s 12th album, his first full length album in nearly five years.  It is a vintage Lim Chang Jung style sad ballad in which he sings about the internal turmoil of a man. The sorrowful string melody and Lim’s heart-wrenching voice increase the sadness of this song.

Rounding out the top three is 4minute’s latest hit “Whatcha Doin’ Today,” moving up 10 spots to No. 3.  This is the title song from 4minute’s fifth mini-album and refers to greetings between good friends. The song was created by Brave Brothers and has an additive upbeat melody.  “Whatcha Doin’ Today” won on M!Countdown this week and will be a serious contender for our top spot next week.

There are two other new songs in the top 10 this week.  Moving up 24 spots to No. 8 is Hong Dae Kwang’s “Thank You My Love,” his second top 10 song this year.  From his mini-album “The Silver Lining,” “Thank You My Love” is a sweet and romantic ballad about what it is like before a date. Hong Dae Kwang did a good job singing about the joy of being in love.

There is also a surprise new entry to the top 10 at No. 9 this week. Unheralded rapper Loco scores his first top 10 hit “Hold Me Tight.” Loco was the winner of the hip-hop survival program “Show Me The Money” and subsequently made his debut in 2012.  “Hold Me Tight” has a listener friendly melody and easy to remember lyrics that successfully crossover to mainstream. This week it moves up 13 spots to No. 9.

Singles Music Chart - April 2014, Week 1
  • 1 (+20) Ordinary Song
    • Chart Info
    • 21 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (-1) Come Back Home
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 3 (+10) Whatcha Doin’ Today
    • Chart Info
    • 13 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 4 (-2) Mr. Mr.
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 5 (-2) Catallena
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 3 Peak on chart
  • 6 (-2) Some (feat. Lilboi of Geeks)
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 8 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 7 (-2) Can’t Stop
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 8 (+24) Thank You My Love
    • Chart Info
    • 32 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 8 Peak on chart
  • 9 (+13) Hold Me Tight (feat. Crush)
    • Chart Info
    • 22 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 9 Peak on chart
  • 10 (–) Only You
    • Chart Info
    • 10 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 7 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (-4) 보름달 (Full Moon (feat. Lena)) Sunmi
12 (-6) 보고 싶어...운다 (Missing You…Crying) Lyn
13 (+27) 그런 남자 (That Kind Of Guy) Bro
14 (-6) Delicious Toheart
15 (-6) 지구가 태양을 네 번 (Four Times Around The Sun) Nell
16 (new) 뜨래요 (Dduraeyo (feat. Angri of 3B)) BaeChiGi
17 (-6) Something Girl’s Day
18 (+10) 나 때문에 (Because Of Me) Ali
19 (-3) 너의 모든 순간 (Every Moment Of You) Sung Si Kyung
20 (+28) 내게기대 (Lean On Me (feat. Park Se Young)) Standing Egg
21 (new) 야생화 (Wild Flower) Park Hyo Shin
22 (-10) 짧은 치마 (Miniskirt) AOA
23 (new) 그 중에 그대를 만나 (Meet Him Among Them) Lee Sun Hee
24 (new) 심장이 뛴다 (Beat) 100%
25 (-10) 널 사랑한다, 지운다, 또 운다 (Love You, Erase You, And I Cry) Shin Yong Jae
26 (-12) 금요일에 만나요 (Friday (feat. Jang Yi Jung of History)) IU
27 (-4) 뛰뛰빵빵 (Beep Beep) BtoB
28 (new) 유나야 (Una Ya) Jo Sung Mo
29 (new) 사이드미러걸 (Feat. 산체스 of 팬텀) (Side Mirror Girl (Feat. Sanchez of Phantom() Louie (Geeks)
30 (+8) 날 부르네요 (You’re Calling Me) Gummy
31 (+8) 내 얘기야 (My Story) Park Soo Jin
32 (-15) 그대라구요 (It’s You) Jung Eun Ji
33 (+1) A Tempo Ga In
34 (new) 우리 사이 (Be A Man) MBLAQ
35 (–) 그린라이트 (Green Light) TROY
36 (-18) 숨소리 (Breath) Taeyeon & Jonghyun
37 (new) Fallin` (Feat. 박재범) Swings
38 (new) 너에게만 반응해 (Feat. 이소은) (Fall To Fly) Lee Seung Hwan
39 (-14) Thank U Very Much BESTie
40 (new) 별일 없니? (How Are You) Gavy NJ
41 (new) Your Love 2BiC
42 (new) 사랑은 없다 (There Is No Love) Timber, Lim Jung Hee
43 (-24) 썸남썸녀 (Feat. 휘성) (Peppermint Chocolate) K.Will, Mamamoo
44 (-20) 그대가 분다 (Wind That Blows) MC The Max
45 (new) Wild Boy (With Kang Seung Yoon, Song Min Ho) Yoon Jong Shin
46 (-5) 한 사람을 위한 마음 (Heart Only For One Person) Shin Jae
47 (-27) 노래가 늘었어 (Singing Got Better) Ailee
48 (-15) 오늘 같은 눈물이 (Tears Like Today) Huh Gak
49 (-19) 나 요즘 (Lately) Vanilla Acoustic
50 (new) I’m Good E-Sens

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music chart or television ranking. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and the airplay of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-Pop. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

GAON Music Chart – 20%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Genie) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 20% 
TV Music Show charts (SBS Inkigayo, KBS Music Bank, MBC Music Core, MNet M!Countdown)  – 45%

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles