[Recap] SBS Gayo Daejun 2011

Every year, the SBS Korean Pop Music Festival takes place to show amazing collaborations and performances from the best K-Pop artists in Korea.

This year, the show was hosted by Song Ji Hyo, Lee Seung Ki and SNSD‘s Yoona. The line-up included Super JuniorDBSK, SNSD, BEAST, 2NE1, 2PM, U-Kiss, KARA, Wonder Girls, CNBLUE, Infinite, Kim Hyun Joong, T-ara, IU, Lee Seung Ki, Brown Eyed Girls, 4minute, Teen Top, Boyfriend, December, f(x), Davichi, G.NADal Shabet, and A Pink, as well as special collaboration performances such as IU and YoSeob, K. Will and Tiffany, 2PM’s Junsu and Davichi and also SM Town Family performed together and introduced four members of SM’s new boy group EXO.

The red carpet had a huge presence of black suits and dresses except for SNSD, some members from girl group Rainbow and Song Ji Hyo who arrived wearing a red long-sleeved dress.

The highlights of the night were definitely: Teen Top and Boyfriend whom arrived at the ceremony looking really mature with their black coats and outfits and at the time to pose we could see their funny side. Another highlight goes to After School whom were looking beautiful with their short dresses, Davichi whom wore the same kind of dress, making them look like gorgeous twins and of course, SNSD, whom put in some color into the red carpet.



Song Ji Hyo


Teen Top




After School




The show was also full of incredible collaborations and performances of foreign songs by the K-Pop idol stars. It started officially when SNSD performed Daft Punk’s “Technologic” and then partnered up with Super Junior to perform Maroon‘s 5Moves Like a Jagger.” The show continued with more collaborations, this time from K.Will and SNSD’s Tiffany whom performed “A Whole New World,” 2PM’s Junsu and Davichi whom performed “Empire State of Mind.”

Another collaboration that fans were really looking forward was between MBLAQ and Infinite whom performed a dance battle to remember. Kim Hyun Joong joined with After School and the girls also partnered with Pledis Boys and performed LMFAO‘s “Party Rock Anthem.” 2PM shared the stage with KARA and showed an amazing performace of “Every Little Step” while IU and BEAST’s YoSeob joined to sing “If You Want a Lover.

CN Blue and Wonder Girls performed a classic song in music history, “Tainted Love” while f(x) and FT Island performed the rock version of Pussycat Dolls’Don’t Cha.” The highlights of the night were definitely Lee Seung Ki who sang “Tonight” and “Love Generation” featuring SNSD’s Yoona. Also, the SM Orchestra and the introduction of SM’s new rookie group EXO with the debut of four of its members: Kai, Tao, Lu Han and Chen. Also Taeyeon and Changmin who sang “Devil’s Cry.”

 SNSD performing Daft Punk’s “Technologic” and Super Junior and SNSD dancing “Moves like a Jagger.”


K. Will and Tiffany – A Whole New World


2PM’s Junsu and Davichi – Empire State of Mind


MBLAQ and Infinite’s dance battle


After School and Pledis Boys – Party Rock Anthem


2PM and KARA – Every Little Step


IU and YoSeob – If You Want a Lover


FT Island and f(x) – Don’t Cha


Lee Seung Ki and SNSD’s Yoona – Tonight and Love Generation


SM Orchestra including Sungmin, Jung Mo, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun, Sunday, Henry a dance solo of f(x)’s Victoria and stage performance of Eunhyuk, Taemin and EXO’s members.



On the rookie side, we can mention A Pink and Boyfriend who joined forces and sang “Cupid.” Also, B1A4 and Dal Shabet set it big on stage while singing “Hollywood,” December performed “Heart Cries“, B1A4 performed “Beautiful Target” as solo stage. Boyfriend sang “I’ll Be There” while Teen Top performed their song “Don’t Spray Perfume.”

B1A4 – Beautiful Target


December – Heart Cries


Teen Top – Don’t Spray Perfume on You


Boyfriend – I’ll Be There


The female sunbaes marked their territory when Ga In, HyunaFei, Hyorin, G.NA, Jiyeon and Sunhwa sang “Run the World“. Female power over the stage! Secret performed “Love is Move,Sistar with “So Cool,” f(x) sang “Pinocchio (Danger),” T-ara performed “Cry Cry,” Brown Eyed Girls with “Sixth Sense,” Wonder Girls with “Be My Baby,” 2NE1 performed “I am the Best” and “Ugly” and SNSD performed “The Boys.”

 Ga In, Hyuna, Fei, Hyorin, G.NA, Jiyeon and Sunhwa – Run the World



f(x) – Pinocchio (Danger)



T-ara – Cry Cry


Brown Eyed Girls – Sixth Sense


Wonder Girls – Be My Baby


2NE1 “I am the Best” and “Ugly”


SNSD – The Boys


On the individual stages for the boy groups, we can mention as highlights CN Blue’s “Intuition” and “In My Head,” MBLAQ’s “Mona Lisa,” FT Island’s “Hello Hello,” Infinite’s “Paradise” and “Be Mine.” BEAST performed “Fiction” despite Ki Kwang‘s injuries, U-Kiss performed “Time to Go,” “0330” and the Japanese hit “Tick Tack” plus “Neverland,” 2PM did “Hands Up.” There was the stage that made Super Junior’s fanclub get upset at SM Entertainment. Super Junior performed “Superman” and “Mr. Simple” and DBSK closed the show with “B.U.T,” “Keep your Head Down” and “Maximum“.

CN Blue – Intuition and In My Head


MBLAQ – Mona Lisa


FT Island – Hello Hello


Infinite – Paradise and Be Mine


BEAST – Fiction


U-Kiss – Time to Go, 0330, Tick Tack and Neverland


2PM – Hands Up


Super Junior – Superman and Mr. Simple


DBSK – B.U.T., Keep Your Head Down and Maximum




Which performance did you enjoy the most? Let us know in the comment section below!