Winners Announced for “1st Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards”

On February 22, the first-ever “Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards” was held in Seoul for over three hours. A total of 14 artists were given the “Artist of the Year” award, which was broken down by each quarter and month of the past year. There were a lot more artists awarded across 15 different categories.

Gaon Chart is one of the most prestigious and reliable national music charts in Korea. Launched in 2010, Gaon is Korea’s first nationally certified music chart, as it is supported by the Korea Music Content Industry Association and the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism.

Check out the full winner list from this year’s “1st Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards” below:


-Artist of the Year (Albums):

TVXQ (1st quarter)

BEAST (2nd quarter)

Super Junior (3rd quarter)

Girls’ Generation (4th quarter)


-Artist of the Year (Digital):

Secret (January)

IU (February)

K-Will (March)


2NE1 (May)

Secret (June)

T-ara (July)

Lee Ssang (August)

Davichi (September)

Lee Seung Gi (October)

Wonder Girls (November)

IU (December)


-Rookie of the Year

Huh Gak

Kim Bo Kyung

A Pink



-Songwriter of the Year:

Yoon Sang


-Lyricist of the Year:

Kim Ee Na


-Chorus of the Year:

Kim Hyun Ah


-Musician of the Year:

Kang Soo Ho


-Stylist of the Year (choreography):



-Stylist of the Year (fashion stylist):

Seo Soo Kyung


-Technician of the Year:

Go Seung Wook


-Discovery of the Year:


Girls Day

The Koxx


-New Media Platform Award:




-K-Pop Contribution Award:

SM Entertainment’s Chairman Lee Soo Man


-Producer of the Year:

Kim Gwang Soo (Core Contents Media)


-Special Oricon Awards:

Girls’ Generation


-Foreign Digital Single Award:

Maroon 5

How does this article make you feel?