Weekly K-Pop Music Chart 2013 – December Week 3

For the first time in eight weeks, a song repeats as No. 1 on our chart.  Hyorin’s “One Way Love” remains on top this week to claim the last No. 1 spot of this year.  She edged out EXO’s new Christmas song “Miracles In December” by 17 points.  The two songs were about even on all our sources, with each winning two music shows.  The main difference was on KBS Music Bank where “One Way Love” was No. 1 and “Miracles In December” was No. 9.  That gap enables Hyorin to continue to top our chart and becomes the first two week champion since IU’s “The Red Shoes” on November Week 1.  Congratulations.

There are four new songs on the top 10 this week, leading by the brand new entry of “Miracles In December” at No. 2 as mentioned.  EXO is enjoying a huge breakthrough year on their sophomore campaign, having a mega hit “Growl.”  The twelve member group releases a special winter album “Miracles In December” to wrap up 2013 and to thank their fans’ massive support.    The title track of the same name is a sugary winter ballad with simple piano melody.  It shows a different side of EXO as members sing with deep emotion on this song.  It is a perfect Christmas present to their fans.

Moving up 15 spots to No. 4 is a duet between Seo In Guk and Zi-A.  The two portrays a “Break Up Couple” in this emotional ballad.  Seo In Guk, who is enjoying his increasing popularity as an actor, returns to music this time to team up with emotional ballad vocalist Zi-A for this song which is currently ranked high on many charts.  This R&B ballad has acoustic guitar and cello sound.  As the song title suggests, the sad lyrics are about the feeling of two former lovers’ expression about their breakup.

Indie ballad trio Urban Zakapa scores their second straight top 10 hit with “When Winter Comes” moves up five spots to No. 6 this week.  Just last month, Urban Zakapa had another top 10 hit “Walking Backwards” went to No. 9.  That song was the preview single of their third album.  They already did better this time with one of their two title songs from the album.  Written by female member Jo Hyun Ah, “When Winter Comes” is a tailor made ballad for the season with the Urban Zakapa’s crystal clear vocal and an attractive piano intro.

Another Christmas song that debuted in the top 10 this week is Crayon Pop’s “Lonely Christmas.”  The five member girl group is one of the best stories in Kpop this year.  They rose from unknown to having one of the biggest hits this year in “Bar Bar Bar.”  “Lonely Christmas” is the title song from Crayon Pop’s Christmas single album of the same name.  Continues with their helmet wearing, fun loving choreography, this song is destined to get a lot of attention during the holiday season.  “Lonely Christmas” debuted at No. 9 this week.

This is the last music chart of 2013.  I like to take this chance to thank all our readers for your continuous support.  Also, to Mardi09 for her help each week scoring part of the chart.  To Soomp! and to the Editing Team taking care of this post every week.  I wish you all Happy Holidays.

As usual, we are taking a week off in the last week of the year.  Be sure you stay tune as we are going to announce the nominees and start the voting for Soompi Awards 2013 (formerly the Soompi Gayo Awards).  I am also going to countdown my recommended top 20 Kpop songs of this year in the coming week.

Singles Music Chart - December 2013, Week 3
  • 1 (–) One Way Love
    • Chart Info
    • 1 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 2 (new) Miracles In December
    • Chart Info
    • 0 Previous rank
    • 1 Number of week on chart
    • 2 Peak on chart
  • 3 (-1) Missing You
    • Chart Info
    • 2 Previous rank
    • 4 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 4 (+15) Break Up Couple
    • Chart Info
    • 19 Previous rank
    • 2 Number of week on chart
    • 4 Peak on chart
  • 5 (+5) Special Love
    • Chart Info
    • 10 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 5 Peak on chart
  • 6 (+5) When Winter Comes
    • Chart Info
    • 11 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 6 Peak on chart
  • 7 (-3) Hush
    • Chart Info
    • 4 Previous rank
    • 6 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 8 (-5) Letter
    • Chart Info
    • 3 Previous rank
    • 5 Number of week on chart
    • 1 Peak on chart
  • 9 (new) Lonely Christmas
    • Chart Info
    • 0 Previous rank
    • 1 Number of week on chart
    • 38 Peak on chart
  • 10 (-5) Break Up Dinner (feat. Swings)
    • Chart Info
    • 5 Previous rank
    • 3 Number of week on chart
    • 5 Peak on chart
Rank Song Artist/Band
11 (+15) 나 어떡해 (Do You Know Me?) T-ara
12 (-5) 향기만 남아 (Memory Of Your Scent) Huh Gak
13 (+3) 행복한 나를 (Happy Me) Lim Kim
14 (+1) 너에게 (To You) Sung Si Kyung
15 (+26) 날 위한 이별 (Breakup For Me) DIA
16 (-10) Being Forgotten Noel
17 (+1) 마음으로만 (My Wish) Park Jung Hyun
18 (new) 없어 (Not There (feat. Eluphant)) Younha
19 (-10) 거짓말 거짓말 거짓말 (Lie Lie Lie) Lee Juck
20 (-12) Lonely Hyorin
21 (–) 가질 수 없는 너 (Can’t Have You) Hi.ni
22 (-9) Now Trouble Maker
23 (new) I Do I Do Secret
24 (+7) Glue Nine Muses
25 (-11) 저주인형 (Voodoo Doll) VIXX
26 (new) 이 시간에 (Feat. 유성은, Young Luffy) (Are You Up (feat. Yoo Sung Eun, Young Luffy)) Louie (Geeks)
27 (-10) Ringa Linga Taeyang
28 (new) 사랑합니다 (I Love You) Junsu
29 (new) 너만을 느끼며 (Feeling Only You) Jung Woo, Yoo Yeon Suk, Son Ho Jun
30 (–) 꽁꽁 (Frozen Hard) Shin Bora
31 (new) 사랑이 내려 (Love Falls) Lee Jong Hyun, Juniel
32 (new) Flower Yong Joon Hyung (Beast)
33 (-13) Doom Dada T.O.P
34 (-7) 아픈 사랑 (Painful Love) Lee Min Ho
35 (-11) 눈물이 맘을 훔쳐서 (As The Tears Steal The Heart) Ailee
36 (-13) It’s You Park Hyo Shin
37 (-12) 미치도록 (Madly) F.T. Island
38 (new) 비누 (Soap) Lee Seung Hwan, Lim Kim
39 (new) 입맞춤 (Kiss (feat. Kikaflo)) Monday Kiz
40 (new) Winter Song (feat. Navi) FreeStyle
41 (new) 너의 목소리가 들려 (I Can Hear Your Voice) Son Seung Yeon
42 (-9) 분홍신 (The Red Shoes) IU
43 (-8) Moment Changmin
44 (-12) 또 운다 (Crying Again) Moon Myung Jin
45 (-16) Mr. Lee (feat. San E) Park Ji Yoon
46 (new) 중독 (Poisioned (feat. Kanto)) Lee Young Hyun
47 (-13) 그대와 함께 (With You) B1A4
48 (-10) 몇번이고 (Again And Again (feat. Park Ji Yoon)) Sweet Sorrow
49 (-7) 너부터 잘 해 (Let’s Talk About You (feat. Apink Yoon Bomi)) M.I.B
50 (-14) 안녕 여자친구 (Goodbye Girlfriend) Dick Punks

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings. It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and airplay of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop. Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%
GAON Music Chart
– 20%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 20% 
SBS Inkigayo Chart  – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10%
MNet M!Countdown Chart – 10%

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles