Winners Of 2018 MBC Entertainment Awards; Lee Young Ja Becomes 1st Woman To Win 2 Daesangs

The 2018 MBC Entertainment Awards was definitely a night to remember!

On December 29, MBC held its annual year-end celebration of the network’s greatest achievements in variety programming and entertainment.

Lee Young Ja, who became the first woman ever to win a Daesang (grand prize) at the KBS Entertainment Awards last week, made history once again at the 2018 MBC Entertainment Awards. After snagging another Daesang to add to her collection, the comedienne officially became the first woman ever to win two entertainment Daesangs in one year.

Not only is Lee Young Ja the first woman to claim two entertainment Daesangs in a single year, but she is also only the third person ever to manage the feat. (Kang Ho Dong was the first to do so in 2008, with Yoo Jae Suk following in his footsteps in both 2009 and 2014.)

The comedienne, who has been widely credited for the success of MBC’s new hit variety show “The Manager,” became visibly emotional as she accepted the award. Many of her fellow comedians in the audience also teared up during her speech, which she began by saying, “I was nervous back in 1992 when I won the Rookie Award, and it turns out that I feel just as nervous winning the Daesang.”

She went on, “‘The Manager’ is created through the sweat and hard work of about 70 people. [Receiving this award] makes me think that we who stand in front of the camera need to work even harder.”

Lee Young Ja ended her speech by affectionately thanking her manager and declaring, “Song Sung Ho is the best manager I’ve ever had. Thank you.”

Check out the full list of award winners below!

Daesang (Grand Prize): Lee Young Ja

Variety Program of the Year: “I Live Alone”

Entertainer of the Year: Lee Young Ja, Kim Gura, Park Na Rae, Jun Hyun Moo

Top Excellence in Variety: Song Eun Yi, Han Hye Jin, Lee Si Eon, Cha In Pyo
Top Excellence in Music & Talk: Yoon Jong Shin
Top Excellence in Radio: Kim Shin Young

Excellence in Variety: Kim Jae Hwa, Kian 84, Park Sung Kwang
Excellence in Music & Talk: Kim So Hyun, Cha Tae Hyun
Excellence in Radio: Kim Je Dong, Jung Sun Hee

Best Entertainer Award for Variety: Sung Hoon, Yoo Byung Jae
Best Entertainer Award for Music & Talk: Lee Sang Min
Best Entertainer Award for Sitcoms: Girls’ Generation’s Yuri, Shin Dong Wook

Rookie Award for Variety: MAMAMOO’s Hwasa, Wanna One’s Kang Daniel, GAMST
Rookie Award for Music & Talk: gugudan’s Mina, SEVENTEEN’s Seungkwan
Rookie Award for Radio: Highlight’s Yang Yoseob, Ahn Young Mi, Choi Wook

PD (Producing Director) Award:Real Men 300
Writer of the Year: Yeo Hyun Jun (“The Manager”)
Special Award: “Welcome, First Time in Korea?”
MC Award: Kim Sung Joo

Popularity Award: Song Sung Ho, Yoo Kyu Sun, Lim Song, Kang Hyun Suk (“The Manager”)
Best Couple: Park Sung Kwang & Lim Song
Best Teamwork: “Hungry Husband”

Congratulations to all of the winners!

Watch the full 2018 MBC Entertainment Awards below:

Watch Now

Source (1) (2)

How does this article make you feel?