Winners Of 56th Baeksang Arts Awards

The 56th Baeksang Arts Awards was a star-studded night celebrating some of the greatest in television, film, and theater!

The annual ceremony took place on June 5 at the KINTEX Hall in Ilsan, Gyeonggi Province, and it was held without an audience due to precautions regarding the COVID-19 pandemic. For the third year in a row, the MCs were Shin Dong Yup, Suzy, and Park Bo Gum.

The Grand Prize for film went to director Bong Joon Ho for the international hit “Parasite.” While he could not be there to accept the award himself, a representative conveyed a message he’d shared in case he won. He said, “It is an honor to be ending at Baeksang the long journey that began in May of last year at Cannes.”

The Grand Prize in television went to the KBS2 drama “When the Camellia Blooms,” while cast members took home the Best Actor (Kang Ha Neul) and Best Supporting Actor (Oh Jung Se) awards and the show also won Best Screenplay. The Best Actress award for television went to Kim Hee Ae for “The World of the Married.”

For work in variety, Yoo Jae Suk grabbed the Best Male Variety Star award for “How Do You Play?” and Park Na Rae won Best Female Variety Star for “Home Alone” (“I Live Alone”).

In the film category, Lee Byung Hun won Best Actor for “The Man Standing Next” and Jeon Do Yeon won Best Actress for “Birthday.”

Check out all the winners below!

Television categories:

Grand Prize: KBS2’s “When the Camellia Blooms”
Best Drama: SBS’s “Stove League
Best Variety Show: TV Chosun’s “Mister Trot”
Best Cultural Program: EBS’s “Giant Peng TV”
Best Director: Mo Wan Il (“The World of the Married”)
Best Screenplay: Lim Sang Chun (“When the Camellia Blooms”)
Technical Award (Art): Jang Yeon Ok (“The Great Escape 3”)
Best Actor: Kang Ha Neul (“When the Camellia Blooms”)
Best Actress: Kim Hee Ae (“The World of the Married”)
Best Supporting Actor: Oh Jung Se (“When the Camellia Blooms”)
Best Supporting Actress: Kim Sun Young (“Crash Landing on You”)
Best New Actor: Ahn Hyo Seop (“Dr. Romantic 2”)
Best New Actress: Kim Da Mi (“Itaewon Class”)
Best Male Variety Star: Yoo Jae Suk (“How Do You Play?”)
Best Female Variety Star: Park Na Rae (“Home Alone”)
Bazaar Icon Award: Seo Ji Hye (“Crash Landing on You”)
TikTok Popularity Award: Hyun Bin And Son Ye Jin (“Crash Landing on You”)

Film categories:

Grand Prize: Bong Joon Ho (“Parasite”)
Best Film: “Parasite”
Best Director: Kim Bo Ra (“House of Hummingbird”)
Best Screenplay: Lee Sang Geum (“Exit”)
Technical Award (Makeup): Kim Seo Hee (“The Man Standing Next”)
Best New Director: Kim Do Young (“Kim Ji Young, Born 1982”)
Best Actor: Lee Byung Hun (“The Man Standing Next”)
Best Actress: Jeon Do Yeon (“Birthday”)
Best Supporting Actor: Lee Kwang Soo (“Inseperable Bros”)
Best Supporting Actress: Kim Sae Byuk (“House of Hummingbird”)
Best New Actor: Park Myung Hoon (“Parasite”)
Best New Actress: Kang Mal Geum (“Lucky Chan-Sil”)

Theater categories:

Baeksang Play Award: Shin Yoo Chung (“Scorched Love” (literal title))
Best Short Play: “0set Project”
Best Actor: Baek Seok Gwang (“Wife”)
Best Actress: Kim Jung (“Rotterdam”)

Congratulations to all the winners!

Check out all the stunning looks from the red carpet here.

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles