Winners Of 2020 MBC Entertainment Awards

MBC has celebrated the variety stars and shows that lit up the network this year!

The 2020 MBC Entertainment Awards were held on December 29, with Jun Hyun Moo, Jang Do Yeon, and Ahn Bo Hyun as MCs. Restrictions to prevent the spread of COVID-19 were put in place, including everyone wearing masks, social distancing, individual partitions set up between tables, and trophies being placed on a table for the winners to pick up, reducing hand-to-hand contact.

Yoo Jae Suk took home the Daesang (Grand Prize) during the night’s ceremony, following his notable work on MBC’s “How Do You Play?” this year. This is Yoo Jae Suk’s seventh time winning the Daesang from the MBC ceremony (including winning with the “Infinite Challenge” cast in 2007).

He said, “I don’t know how to express my gratitude. I really had no idea I’d win the Grand Prize again after ‘Infinite Challenge.’ There are so many people I need to thank.”

“Thank you to my parents and my father-in-law,” he said. “More than anything else, to my beloved Na Kyung Eun. I wanted to say this. I’m also so proud and grateful that I’m the husband of Na Kyung Eun.” He continued, “Our son Ji Ho is in the fourth grade and our youngest has turned three. I think they’ll be asleep right now but I want to say ‘I love you so much’ to Ji Ho and Na Eun.”

He went on to share his thanks to “How Do You Play?” producing director Kim Tae Ho, commenting that he thinks that both himself and Kim Tae Ho hadn’t imagined they’d win the variety program of the year and Daesang together again after doing so with “Infinite Challenge.” He expressed his thanks to more staff members and producing directors. “I want to have dinner with you once COVID-19 calms down,” he said. He continued to extend his thanks to many writers and staff.

Yoo Jae Suk thanked Jo Se Ho, Lee Juk, Yoo Hui Yeol, Uhm Jung Hwa, Jessi, Hwasa, Kim Jong Min, Jung Jae Hyung, Defconn, and Rain. “More than anything, to [Lee] Sang Soon, and to Lee Hyori to whom I want to give all the honor of this award, I sincerely thank you,” he shared.

“I’ve never thought when doing a program, ‘I’m confident,’ or ‘I can achieve this,'” he said. “But there’s something I always decide when I’m doing a program. No matter what the result is, I will take responsibility.” He added, “Thank you to the viewers who support us when we’re having a hard time and now too.”

Yoo Jae Suk then shared his hope for the return of an MBC comedy program that junior comedians could dream of being on. After expressing his thanks to health workers and to senior and junior entertainers, Yoo Jae Suk mentioned the late comedian Park Ji Sun, who passed away this year. He said, “I hope that Park Ji Sun, who so sadly went to heaven at a young age this year, will rest in peace.”

Check out the list of winners below:

Daesang (Grand Prize): Yoo Jae Suk (“How Do You Play?”)

Entertainer of the Year: Park Na Rae, Kim Sung Joo, Lee Young Ja, Kim Gura, Yoo Jae Suk, Jun Hyun Moo

Variety Program of the Year: “How Do You Play?”

Top Excellence in Variety: MAMAMOO’s Hwasa (“Home Alone” (“I Live Alone”), “How Do You Play?”), Sung Hoon (“Home Alone”)
Top Excellence in Music & Talk: Lee Hyori (“How Do You Play?”), Yang Se Hyung (“The Paikfather,” “The Manager,” “Where Is My Home”)
Top Excellence in Radio: Jung Sun Hee (“Jung Sun Hee and Moon Chun Shik’s Radio Era Now”)

Excellence in Variety: Son Dam Bi (“Home Alone”), Jang Do Yeon (“Home Alone”), Boom (“It’s a Relief if We Don’t Fight,” “Where Is My Home”)
Excellence in Music & Talk: Uhm Jung Hwa (“How Do You Play?”), Jessi (“How Do You Play?”, “The Manager”), Kim Jong Min (“Nation of Trot,” “Those Who Cross the Line: Returns,” “How Do You Play?”)
Excellence in Radio: Lee Yoon Suk (“Lee Yoon Suk and Jeon Young Mi’s Good Weekend”), Lee Ji Hye (“Lee Ji Hye’s Afternoon Discovery”)

PD Award: Baek Jong Won (“The Paikfather”)
Best Couple: Yoo Jae Suk, Lee Hyori (“How Do You Play?”)
Achievement Award: Kim Gook Jin (“Radio Star”)
Best Teamwork Award: “The Manager”
Popularity Award: Ahn Young Mi (“Radio Star”)
Special Award: Judges of “Nation of Trot”
Best Format Award:The King of Mask Singer
Digital Content Award: Park Na Rae, Han Hye Jin, Hwasa (“Home Alone: Girls’ Secret Party”)
Best Dresser Award: Norazo (“The Paikfather,” “The Manager”)
Writer of the Year: Choi Hye Jung (“How Do You Play?”)
Rookie Award: Ko Eun Ah (“The Manager”), Kim Kang Hoon (“The King of Mask Singer,” “Those Who Cross the Line: Returns,” “The Manager”)
Rookie Radio Award: Kang Soo Ji (“Kang Soo Ji’s Wonderful Radio”), Jun Hyosung (“Jun Hyosung’s Dreaming Radio”), Pyo Chang Won (“Pyo Chang Won’s News High Kick”)
Special Award for Current Events and Cultural Programs: Kim Han Seok, Kim Jung Geun, Park Yeon Kyung (“Good Day”)
Writer of the Year for Current Events and Cultural Programs: Park Min Jung (“Humanimal”)
Special Award for Radio: Im Jin Mo (“Bae Chul Soo’s Music Camp”), Kim Eun Ae (“57 Minute Traffic Report,” “Weather and Life”)
Writer of the Year for Radio: Kim Kyung Ok (“Bae Chul Soo’s Music Camp”)
Radio Contribution Award: GS Caltex

Watch “How Do You Play?” below!

Watch Now

Source (1) (2) (3) (4) (5)

How does this article make you feel?