Winners Of The 59th Baeksang Arts Awards

The 59th Baeksang Arts Awards celebrated some of the best in television, film, and theater from the past year!

The annual ceremony took place on April 28 at Paradise City in Incheon and was hosted by Shin Dong Yup, Suzy, and Park Bo Gum.

The Grand Prize in film went to director Park Chan Wook for “Decision to Leave,” with lead star Tang Wei winning Best Actress. As Park Chan Wook was not present to personally receive the award, it was accepted on his behalf by art director Ryu Seong Hee, who worked on “Decision To Leave” and won Best Art Direction this evening for tvN’s “Little Women.” She shared, “As of this year, it’s been 30 years since director Park Chan Wook began [making] movies, and 20 years ago, he received love from all around the world with ‘Old Boy.’ I think he will feel very rewarded to receive an award in this kind of year.”

In the television category, the Grand Prize was given to Park Eun Bin for her role in ENA’s “Extraordinary Attorney Woo.” The actress shared through tears, “I am receiving this on behalf of our team. Thank you.”

Park Eun Bin explained that the love and attention the drama received had exceeded everyone’s expectations. She then added, “I did think that it would be nice to become an adult who receives a Grand Prize if I did not give up on my dream to be an actress, so thank you for making that dream come true today. I hope that my attempt to understand Young Woo was a good experience [for others] to learn at least a bit about the autism spectrum, and I hope it was as helpful as all the kind words and attention I received.”

She continued, “Although I did not have the ambitious goal of playing a role in changing the world, I acted with the hopes that through this drama, we would be able to have kinder hearts than before and recognize the unique characteristics each person has as variety rather than differences. Thank you for taking interest in and carrying out those footsteps.”

Yoo In Shik of “Extraordinary Attorney Woo” was awarded Best Director and shared, “I applaud the amazing acting of actress Park Eun Bin, who made Woo Young Woo an unforgettable character in viewers’ hearts all around the world last summer.” He expressed his gratitude for the cast and crew of “Extraordinary Attorney Woo” and added, “I hope that the hearts with which this drama was created are conveyed to all the Young Woo’s of the world who are standing in front of revolving doors.”

Also scoring three awards in the television category was Netflix’s “The Glory,” which took home Best Drama, in addition to Song Hye Kyo and Lim Ji Yeon winning Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress respectively. Two films additionally won three trophies each, including “The Night Owl” taking home Best New Director, Best Actor, and Best Film, and “Next Sohee” winning Best New Actress, Best Screenplay, and the Gucci Impact Award.

See the full list of winners below!


Grand Prize: Park Eun Bin (“Extraordinary Attorney Woo”)

Best Drama: Netflix’s “The Glory”

Best Director: Yoo In Shik (“Extraordinary Attorney Woo”)

Best Actor: Lee Sung Min (“Reborn Rich”)
Best Actress: Song Hye Kyo (“The Glory”)

Best Supporting Actor: Jo Woo Jin (“Narco-Saints”)
Best Supporting Actress: Lim Ji Yeon (“The Glory”)

Best New Actor: Moon Sang Min (“Under the Queen’s Umbrella”)
Best New Actress: Roh Yoon Seo (“Crash Course in Romance”)

Best Variety Show: Psick University “Psick Show”

Best Educational Show: MBC Gyeongnam “Adult Kim Jang Ha” (literal title)

Best Male Entertainer: Kim Jong Kook
Best Female Entertainer: Lee Eun Ji

Best Screenplay: Park Hae Young (“My Liberation Notes”)

Technical Award (Art Direction): Ryu Seong Hee (“Little Women”)

TikTok Popularity Award: Jinyoung, IU


Grand Prize: “Decision to Leave”

Best Film: “The Night Owl”

Best Director: Park Chan Wook (“Decision to Leave”)
Best New Director: Ahn Tae Jin (“The Night Owl”)

Best Actor: Ryu Jun Yeol (“The Night Owl”)
Best Actress: Tang Wei (“Decision to Leave”)

Best Supporting Actor: Byun Yo Han (“Hansan: Rising Dragon”)
Best Supporting Actress: Park Se Wan (“6/45”)

Best New Actor: Jinyoung (“Christmas Carol”)
Best New Actress: Kim Si Eun (“Next Sohee”)

Best Screenplay: Jung Ju Ri (“Next Sohee”)

Technical Award (Cinematography): Lee Mo Gae (“Hunt”)

Gucci Impact Award: “Next Sohee”


Baeksang Play Award: “None Elected”

Best Short Play: “A Little Lonely Monologue and Always Friendly Songs”

Acting Award: Ha Ji Seong (“Teenage Dick”)

Congratulations to all the winners!

Check out the red carpet looks from the night here!

Start watching “Reborn Rich” with subtitles on Viki below:

Watch Now

Source (1)

How does this article make you feel?


Please login to Soompi to join the conversation!

Similar Articles